Milford Annual “Kick-Off to Summer Blast”

Milford_SummerRouteMayor Ben Blake announced yesterday that Milford’s annual “Kick-Off to Summer Blast” will be held on Friday, July 1st from 4:00-11:30pm at Lisman Landing Marina, with a fireworks extravaganza to light-up the harbor at 9:15pm.

The food trucks have been doubled this year from six to 12, the Mayor said. They will be serving-up tasty gourmet food for purchase, while Wines and More will sell beverages at two stations this year.

A shuttle bus will run from Harborside Middle School, Wasson Field and the Milford Senior Center. The bus will drop off guests at the corner of High Street and Helwig Street. Helwig Street will close beginning at 5:00pm until 11:00pm.

The public lot at Lisman’s Landing and the Milford Public Library will close to all commuters on Thursday, June 30th and Friday, July 1st. Parking will be available at the City’s newly paved parking lot parallel to the train station on High Street. Participants to asked to please do not park at the Lisman’s Landing or the Library, otherwise you will be towed.

Event sponsorships are still available and anyone interested in helping to make the event a continued success should please contact the committee chairman, Dan Worroll at or 203-464-9632.

8th Annual Milford Democratic Awards Dinner Recap


On June 10th, 2016, at Aldario’s Restaurant here in Milford, Connecticut the 8th Annual Milford Democratic Party Awards Dinner was held.

Nancy Wyman, Lieutenant Governor of Connecticut, was the recipient of the “Democrat of the Year Award“. Nancy began her career in public more more than 30 years ago when she served on the Tolland Board of Education. After nearly a decade on the Board she was elected to four terms in the State House of Representatives. Ms. Wyman during his House tenure was the chair of the Education Commitee and held leadership positions on the Appropriations sub-committee on Elementary and Secondary Education. in 1994 Wyman made history as the first elected female Connecticut State Comptroller. Lt. Governor Wyman is a longtime supporter of the American School for the Deaf in West Hartford and in 2013 was named to the school’s Board of Directors. She is prominent in efforts to raise funds for breast cancer research, has been closely involved with Mothers Against Drunk Driving, the National Kidney Assocation and the American Heart Association.

Nick Veccharelli and George Amato were the recipients of the “Lifetime Achievement Award“.  Nick is a Milford native, Jonathan Law High School graduate and former Firefighter. He first entered politics years ago when Point Beach School was being sold and along with it the playground where he and his neighbors took their children to play. He lobbied the Board of Alderman not to sell the playground as part of the deal and succeeded. He began his service to the Democratic Town Committee working on State Representative campaigns and worked with numerous Milford Democratic Town Committee Chairmen to achieve the goals of the Democratic Party. Nick currently serves on the Board of Aldermen for the 3rd District and acts as Majority Leader.

George is a lifelong resident of Connecticut. Through the years, George has served his city as a community activist and political leader on local issues. In Milford you can see his efforts and creative influence across the City from Eisenhower Park to restoration and improvements along the shoreline. From 1971 to 1983 he served on the Board of Aldermen and served as a coordinator in Southern Connecticut for the late Robert Kennedy’s presidential campaign in 1968. He also served as the Chairman of the 4th District Democratic Town Committee in Milford.

Samual S. Bergami, Jr was the recipient of the “Outstanding Community Service Award“. Sam is the President, CEO and co-owner of Alinabal Holdings Corp. In 1993 he was named by the Milford Chamber of Commerce as the “Businessperson of the Year”. Sam has been involved in numerous organizations over the past 30 years and has received many awards for both his community involvement and significant contributions to the Milford business community.

The 8th Annual Milford Democratic Awards also had the great pride of honoring the recipients of the 2nd Annual Claire Phelan Scholarship Award. Students from Jonathan Law and Joseph A. Foran High School were given the scholarship award, named in the memory of Claire Phelan. We wish you great success in your college studies.

Big thank you to all who helped organize the dinner and a thanks to everyone who took out ad space in the Milford Democrat’s ad book this year!

Congratulations to all the honorees of the 8th Annual Milford Democratic Party Awards Dinner. We thank you for your public service!

Connecticut Delegate Selection List for the Democratic National Convention


From an article on CT Mirror by Mark Pazniokas

On June 7th, 2016 the campaigns of Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders worked together to finish Connecticut delegate selections for the Democratic National Convention.

“It couldn’t have worked out any greater. I got to tell you everybody in the end, they just sat down and were able to work everything out. The campaigns are very pleased,” Connecticut Democratic Party Chairman Nick Balletto said. “You can’t make everybody happy, but the tone, the way the campaigns ended up was excellent.”

In all, 55 delegates were apportioned on the results of the April 26 primary: 28 for Clinton and 27 for Sanders. Three-dozen were chosen in congressional district caucuses a week ago.

The final group of 19 selected on June 7th, 2016 by the state central committee was composed of 12 at-large delegates and seven “pledged PLEOs” (Party Leaders and Elected Officials).

The four PLEOs pledged to Clinton are: Bridgeport Mayor Joseph Ganim, Ed Camacho of Norwalk, Secretary of the State Denise Merrill and state Rep. Patricia Billie Miller of Stamford. The three pledged to Sanders are: state Rep. Edwin Vargas of Hartford, Eloisa Melendez of Norwalk and state Rep. Robyn Porter of New Haven.

The 12 at-large delegates were evenly split.

The six Clinton delegates are: T.J. Clarke, the president of the Hartford City Council, plus Francisco Gonzalez of Greenwich, Susan Barrett of Fairfield, Deputy Comptroller Martha Carlson, Donna King of Norwalk and Susan Goldman of Norwich.

The six for Sanders: state Sen. Gary Winfield of New Haven, former UAW leader Phil Wheeler, William Henderson of the Communication Workers of America, Carol Goldberg of Bethany, Debra Cohen of Wethersfield and Audrey Blondin of Torrington.

The delegation also will include 16 superdelegates, who include Gov. Dannel P. Malloy, the congressional delegation and others. They are not bound by the primary results, though all but one are publicly committed to Clinton.

The following Democrats from the 3rd Congressional District were elected last week as district-level delegates:

3rd Congressional District

Clinton: New Haven Mayor Toni Harp, Audrey Tyson, Frank Alvarado and West Haven Mayor Edward O’Brien.

Sanders: Christine Bartlett-Josie, Bonita Yarboro and Eli Markham.

Please refer to the main article for delegate listing from other Congressional Districts.

Gettinger for the 119th Campaign Kick Off Event

The Milford Democratic Town Committee cordially invites you to join us to kick off the campaign for Ben Gettinger, State Representative candidate for the 119th.

Gettinger for the 119th Campaign Kick Off Event

June 15th, 2016

6:00pm EST

Stonebridge Restaurant

Daniel Street, Milford CT