Milford Dems Gather at Annual Awards Dinner

CTDems1The Milford Democratic Town Committee gathered last Friday to honor several members of the Milford community, with special guests Senator Richard Blumenthal and Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman speaking at the Sixth Annual Milford DTC Awards Dinner held at Aldario’s Restaurant near Walnut Beach. State Senator Gayle Slossberg, State Representatives Kim Rose and James Maroney and many, many more Democratic local officials were also in attendance to celebrate the honorees.

US Representative Rosa DeLauro was honored as the Democrat of the Year. Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman accepted Rosa’s award on her behalf, giving a humorous and charming speech before the Milford DTC. Rosa Delauro was unable to attend the awards dinner because DeLauro was in Normandy, France to mark the 70th Anniversary Of D-Day. She was part of a Congressional Delegation to attend the special ceremony.

Alberta Jagoe was honored with the Lifetime Contribution Award. Jagoe was the Mayor of Milford from 1981 to 1989 and she currently serves as the Chairwoman of the Police Commission; she also acts as Secretary for the Milford 375th Committee. Before accepting the award, Mayor Ben Blake rose to speak about his predecessor, calling her a mentor and a trail blazer, citing her historic election as the only woman to serve as Mayor of Milford. Her election, Blake said, paved the way for future women in Milford to run for office.

Leticia Malone was honored with the Outstanding Community Service Award. Leticia, also known as Letty by friends and family, was hailed as a champion of conservation and an important figure in open space affairs here in Milford. Malone recently was an advocate for the creation of an Open Space Manager to oversee undeveloped land in Milford. She, along with many other conservationists and environmentalists in Milford, celebrated the creation of the Open Space Manager last year in December.

Benjamin Gettinger was awarded the Young Democrat of the Year. Gettinger currently serves as the Chairman of the Planning and Zoning Board and acts as Treasurer for the Milford Democratic Town Committee. Originally elected to the Planning and Zoning Board for the 4th District in 2011, Gettinger expressed his gratitude for the honor and looked forward to the upcoming campaign season.

We thank all the advertisers for the contributions to the ad book this year. There were many unique ads placed this year and it was a joy to scan through them all. While I personally snuck a peak at an early version of the ad book before Mike Brown printed off the finalized ad book it was very nice to see the final, printed version come out so well.

The Awards Dinner Committee also did a wonderful job setting up all the silent auction gifts, organizing dinner placements and handling the finances to run the 6th Annual Milford DTC Awards Dinner.

Attendees to the Awards Dinner received a free copy of the Milford Living Magazine’s special Milford 375th Commemorative Edition.

Milford Dems Nominate Candidates

CTDemsConvention season 2014 is over and the nominations are closed. Members of the Milford Democratic Town Committee were very busy attending several local and State conventions as delegates to formally nominate candidates to run during the November election.

Many local conventions were held to nominate several State Representatives and our State Senator, including the Milford-Orange Judge of Probate.

  • Gayle Slossberg was nominated to run once again as State Senator during the 14th Senatorial District held at West Haven City Hall. Slossberg represents Milford, Orange, and portions of West Haven and Woodbridge.
  • James Maroney was nominated during the 119th Democratic Convention to run for a second term as State Representative. Maroney represents areas of Milford and Orange.
  • Kim Rose was nominated by delegates of the 118th Democratic Convention, held at the Elks Lodge in Milford, to run for a third term as State Representative. Her district consists entirely of the town of Milford.
  • Paul Davis was nominated by delegates of the 117th Democratic Convention to run for a sixth term as State Representative. Davis represents portions of Milford, Orange and West Haven.
  • Beverly Streit-Kefalas was nominated to run for another term as Judge of Probate, representing Milford and Orange.
  • Kerri Rowland was nominated as the Democratic Registrar of Voters this November. Rowland, who has been serving as the Deputy Registrar of Voters for many years, has replaced the outgoing Democratic Registrar Antoinette Carey and will run for election for a full term.

Linda Stephenson was also nominated and elected to serve on the Connecticut Democratic State Central Committee, representing District 14 (Milford, Orange and parts of West Haven and Woodbridge). Town Committees can send two people (one man and one woman) from each Senate district to serve on State Central.

The Milford Democratic Town Committee additionally sent delegates to the 2014 State Democratic Convention held in Hartford at the Connecticut Convention Center and to the 3rd Congressional District Convention held at North Haven High School.

The 2014 State Democratic Convention nominated the following candidates for state-wide office;

Dan Malloy – Governor
Nancy WymanLieutenant Governor
Denise Merrill – Secretary of State
Kevin Lembo – State Comptroller
Denise Nappier – State Treasurer
George Jepsen – State Attorney

The 3rd Congressional District Convention was held at North Haven High School. U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro was nominated by delegates. Representative DeLauro will be honored during the 6th Annual Milford DTC Awards Dinner to be held on Friday June 6th in Milford, Connecticut.

To view the complete list of Democratic candidates for the 2014 election and to visit their respective campaign sites, click here:

Candidates – 2014

For information on voting or if you’re interested in registering to vote please visit our Voting page on Milford Democrats;

Voting Information