9th Annual Milford Democratic Awards Dinner – This Friday

You are Cordially Invited to Attend

the Milford Democratic Town Committee’s

9th Annual Awards Dinner


Kevin Lembo

Connecticut State Comptroller

Democrat of the Year

Marty Hardiman

Lifetime Contribution

Richard N. Platt, Jr.

Outstanding Community Leadership


Costa Azzurra

72 Broadway, Milford, CT 06460

Friday June 2nd, 2017

Cocktails at 6:30pm

Seating for Dinner at 7:30pm

Silent Auction from 6:30-9:00pm


Paid for the Milford Democratic Town Committee, Ben Gettinger, Treasurer.

Proceeds to Benefit the Milford Democratic Town Committee.

Milford DTC Meeting Notice – Nomination of Candidates – July 23rd, 2015

On July 23rd, 2015 the attendance of the members of the Milford Democratic Town Committee is requested to officially nominate candidates for Mayor, City Clerk, Board of Aldermen, Board of Education, Planning and Zoning and Constables for this year’s upcoming municipal election here in Milford, Connecticut.

When: July 23rd, 2015 at 7:00pm EST

Where: Milford City Hall, 110 River Street

Members are welcome to invite their friends and family to attend the gathering. The public can attend as well. During the nominating process only members of the Milford Democratic Town Committee can vote.

After the nominations are complete you are welcome to head down to Stonebridge Restaurant in celebration of the nominees. Stonebridge is located around the corner at 50 Daniel Street.

7th Annual Milford Democratic Awards Dinner Recap

Milford Dems LogoLast night, June 4th, 2015, at Aldario’s Restaurant here in Milford, Connecticut the 7th Annual Milford Democratic Party Awards Dinner took place.

George Jepsen, Attorney General of Connecticut, was the recipient of the “Democrat of the Year Award“. George took the oath of office as Attorney General in 2011; before taking office he was a practicing lawyer for 26 years. He has a long history in state government that started in 1987 when he was elected to Stamford’s 148 State House District. He went on to serve as State Senator in the 27th State Senatorial District from 1990 to 2003. From 2003 to 2005 he was the Democratic State Party Chairman from 2003-2005. Recently he praised the passage of Senate Bill 949, An Act Improving Data Security and Agency Effectiveness, which includes several changes to the state’s data breach notification law.

Una Glennon was the recipient of the “Lifetime Achievement Award“. An active member of the Milford Democratic Town Committee for more than 30 years, she served on the mayoral campaign of Alberta Jagoe and worked with many mayoral campaigns during her time. Una also served on the Board of Alderman for eight years where she also acted as the liaison to the Board of Education. Other accolades include her serving on the State Central Committee and being a member of several local boards and commissions.

Richard Conine was the recipient of the “Outstanding Community Service Award“. Richie credits his father, Tom Conine, for planting his family’s roots in Milford in 1949 with the opening of Milford Seafood. Richie operates the Stonebridge Restaurant in Downtown Milford on Daniel Street with his family and has a long history of community involvement here in town. He is known for his generosity to a number of Milford community organizations and for volunteering to serve on numerous local committees.

The 7th Annual Milford Democratic Awards also had the great pride of honoring the recipients of the 1st Annual Claire Phelan Scholarship Award. Students from Jonathan Law and Joseph A. Foran High School were given the scholarship award, named in the memory of Claire Phelan. Sara Dato and Kyle-Gabriel Tan from Jonathan Law and Elizabeth Hull and Drew Lenz from Foran High School were given the scholarship. We wish you great success in your college studies.

Big thank you to all who helped organize the dinner and a thank to everyone who took out ad space in the Milford Democrat’s ad book this year!

Congratulations to all the honorees of the 7th Annual Milford Democratic Party Awards Dinner. We thank you for your public service!

Milford Dems Nominate Candidates

CTDemsConvention season 2014 is over and the nominations are closed. Members of the Milford Democratic Town Committee were very busy attending several local and State conventions as delegates to formally nominate candidates to run during the November election.

Many local conventions were held to nominate several State Representatives and our State Senator, including the Milford-Orange Judge of Probate.

  • Gayle Slossberg was nominated to run once again as State Senator during the 14th Senatorial District held at West Haven City Hall. Slossberg represents Milford, Orange, and portions of West Haven and Woodbridge.
  • James Maroney was nominated during the 119th Democratic Convention to run for a second term as State Representative. Maroney represents areas of Milford and Orange.
  • Kim Rose was nominated by delegates of the 118th Democratic Convention, held at the Elks Lodge in Milford, to run for a third term as State Representative. Her district consists entirely of the town of Milford.
  • Paul Davis was nominated by delegates of the 117th Democratic Convention to run for a sixth term as State Representative. Davis represents portions of Milford, Orange and West Haven.
  • Beverly Streit-Kefalas was nominated to run for another term as Judge of Probate, representing Milford and Orange.
  • Kerri Rowland was nominated as the Democratic Registrar of Voters this November. Rowland, who has been serving as the Deputy Registrar of Voters for many years, has replaced the outgoing Democratic Registrar Antoinette Carey and will run for election for a full term.

Linda Stephenson was also nominated and elected to serve on the Connecticut Democratic State Central Committee, representing District 14 (Milford, Orange and parts of West Haven and Woodbridge). Town Committees can send two people (one man and one woman) from each Senate district to serve on State Central.

The Milford Democratic Town Committee additionally sent delegates to the 2014 State Democratic Convention held in Hartford at the Connecticut Convention Center and to the 3rd Congressional District Convention held at North Haven High School.

The 2014 State Democratic Convention nominated the following candidates for state-wide office;

Dan Malloy – Governor
Nancy WymanLieutenant Governor
Denise Merrill – Secretary of State
Kevin Lembo – State Comptroller
Denise Nappier – State Treasurer
George Jepsen – State Attorney

The 3rd Congressional District Convention was held at North Haven High School. U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro was nominated by delegates. Representative DeLauro will be honored during the 6th Annual Milford DTC Awards Dinner to be held on Friday June 6th in Milford, Connecticut.

To view the complete list of Democratic candidates for the 2014 election and to visit their respective campaign sites, click here:

Candidates – 2014

For information on voting or if you’re interested in registering to vote please visit our Voting page on Milford Democrats;

Voting Information